Cool Hand Luke: The Band, The Music

Cool Hand Luke is my favorite band. Period. And here’s the reason why: I’ve never heard a band who so musically combines Scripture with feeling, and who does it so well.

Check some lyrics from their last album, The Fires of Life:

“Friendly Jas”
I thank my God for every (Philippians 1:3) / Memory of you
The lessons learned and / The way the Spirit moved
I remember hearing “church is more than just a building”
I remember when we proved it true

Flowers fall and seasons change / And you know how we treat the rain
In times of drought we pray it comes / And when it falls we turn and run
The moon is new; you’ve left your seat / The time has come to go in peace
With my own hand the bow was strung / The arrow shot now falls beyond

Everything has changed / But our hope remains the same
I want you to know that I’ll be here / Through a hundred years of rain

************************

“I’m Not Running”
For the message / Of the cross is
Foolishness / To those who are perishing
But to us / Being saved
It’s the power / Of God (I Corinthians 1:18)

There’s no turning back / Unless we’re turning back to you

I’m not running away from this / I’m not falling asleep
I’m not taking a bribe from anyone for anything
I’m not running away from this / I’m not falling asleep
I’m not turning back on the one thing that I know

***************************
Their new album, The Balancing Act, is coming out on February 20, and I will be getting it.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

