High School Reunion

yes, it sure has been a long time
and I look back –
I’d rather not like what I see.
You and me, we barely knew each other then
and much worse now,
and who am I to say that you don’t know how
I changed from a 17-year-old punk who couldn’t think straight
to a 28-year-old man whose mind is set ablaze
with the joy that God is at the center of all things?
But the chances are that you probably don’t,
and that’s what saddens me the most.

When I look back at my supposedly Christian high school,
I realize that almost all of us were lost,
separated from Christ, strangers to the covenant of promise,
without hope and without God in the world.
But now, by the blood of Christ,
I have been made His own,
so I pray and plead
that He adopts you, too, into the happiest of homes.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

2 Responses to High School Reunion

  1. Neil Pierson says:

    Yahoo. Sounds like some good news got through. Exciting stuff.

    Having become a Christian in a State school in my teens and now sending my kids to a Christian school this is something I do think about. Appears to me many Christian schools start with a radical sense of passion but after 20 or more years settle for being “good”. Covenant Christian School Belrose Sydney Australia seems to be trying harder to keep true to its founders vision http:www.covenant.nsw.edu.au

  2. Britt says:

    Thanks for reading my post and dropping me the note and the link. Someone once told me that Christian schools often become “a breeding ground for Pharisees,” and I’ve most often found that to be true. The Gospel does sink into many hearts of good soil, but more often it seems the soils are rocky, thorny, or on the road.

    It all boils down to simply teaching to and responding from the heart. May God grant our “Christian” schools to be truly Christ-centered in promoting faith in content and application. As a current middle school teacher, I know how difficult this can be.

    Britt from crossonmyback

Leave a Reply

