So Many Sermons, So Much Time

Some highlights from my seemingly-unlimited amount of listening time at my new temporary data-entry job:

  • Andy Davis at CHBC on “Living the Christian Life.” Here I learned the immensity of what God requires of us as Christians and the immensity for what Jesus has accomplished, is accomplishing, and will accomplish for us and in us.
  • Michael Lawrence at CHBC “On Loving One Another in the Church.” Pastor Lawrence focuses on how local church members should be loving each other to kill sin and press on in the faith. Every Christian’s understanding of their own life should include the corporate (church-body) nature that CHBC and 9Marks so rigorously teaches.
  • Mark Driscoll at an Acts 29 Conference on “The Doctrine of the Holy Spirit in Luke and Acts.” This was not only Scripture-saturated and Christ-centered, but thorough and clear as well. I learned a lot.
  • John Piper at an Acts 29 conference this past January on “How My Pastoral Ministry Shapes My Pulpit Ministry.” God has so often used Pastor John to stoke my fires for Christ through this preacher’s burning and shining light, and this sermon is no different. Of special note here are his many stories of his personal and pastoral life.
  • A Q&A session with John Piper and Matt Chandler. Mark Driscoll emcees the discussion, and both laughter and gravity ensues.
  • Mark Driscoll at an Acts 29 boot camp for church planters on “The Ox: Qualifications of a Church Planter.” God’s Spirit humbled and inspired me through Mark’s candid, clear, biblical exposition of the office of elder and the specific kind of elder needed to plant a church.

I praise God for giving me a heart to listen to sermons when I have the time! This new heart is surely not my own, but was bought with precious blood!

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

2 Responses to So Many Sermons, So Much Time

  1. drjmarkh says:

    Thanks for the sermon summaries. I’ll have to listen to some of them though because they sound very good.
    Thanks,
    Mark

  2. Britt says:

    Mark, thanks for dropping by. I listed a few that I listened to later in the week on a more recent post.

    Don’t expect too many of these, though, I’ve got classes to teach now that school’s back in!

    Britt (crossonmyback)

Leave a Reply

