Maybe the Most Practically Helpful Site I’ve Ever Seen

… is called SeminarySurvivalGuide.com.  I found it through a comment list at the bottom of an old link I have on this blog, but, wow, is it ever incredible.

I just read the following posts:

“Interruptions” has a particularly pointed ending:

Be Unavailable. Like Jesus.
You may think I’m just a cold-hearted jerk who hates talking to people. Remember that all my suggestions here are not meant for you to slavishly copy. I want you to think about your life and how you can best obey the command to “make the most of your time.” (Ephesians 5:16)Other people will not understand or respect your very great need for sustained theological reflection or uninterrupted time in prayer.

Learn to set those boundaries now, and learn to make others adjust to them. Jesus did not ask permission to go away by himself and pray. He just did it. When people needed him, they just had to deal with it until he got back.

I think that’s a pretty good example.

Amen, amen, and amen. May the Lord help us set aside the necessary time for sustained theological reflection and uninterrupted prayer.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

2 Responses to Maybe the Most Practically Helpful Site I’ve Ever Seen

  1. Mark says:

    Wow. Thanks for the kind remarks. I’ve been tied up with church obligations and unable to post anything new on the site for several months now, but am happy you’re finding value there. It was meant to be practical.

    Best,

    Mark Warnock
    General Editor
    Seminary Survival Guide.com

    • B Treece says:

      Mark,

      Hey, thanks for the response. As far as posting and updates go, I didn’t even notice that most of the posts were from a while ago until I had been reading for over 30 minutes! So I wouldn’t worry about it.

      I may, however, be writing up some of my thoughts as I near the end of my six-year seminary “career” (if you can call it that), so if you like any of that material on here I would be happy to re-write, re-format, or continue that line of thought on SSG (if you need more material, that is). You’re welcome to check out my site to see that I’m a reformed evangelical who’s been schooled by Desiring God, 9Marks, and the Resurgence among others.

      Thanks for dropping by and for the TONS of encouragement in the Lord,

      Britt
      crossonmyback

Leave a Reply

