Jesus Loves Nursery Time

I love nursery time. I love crawling around with the kids on the floor. I love reading stories to them, and I love playing games with them.  And believe me, it is humbling and I fail a ton while I’m there, but I love it.

I know, I know, in our culture, for a grown man to say he loves being in the nursery is almost . . . scandalous, foolish, effeminate, immature.  Men who go to church are supposed to be the ones who move things, look cool, crack some jokes, maybe preach a sermon, and shake some hands. They don’t chase around toddlers in the baby room, and they certainly don’t take anyone potty.

The thing is, though, as men of the church we profess to be more primarily men of Christ. As men of Christ, we are following the one who, “took the little ones in his arms and blessed them.” Jesus is the one who said, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God.” He even went on to say, “Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it,” (Mark 10:13-16)!!!

The thing is, if another dude walks up to me on Sunday and says I look funny crawling around with a 2-yr-old on my back while grunting at the other toddlers, he’s acting more like the foolhardy disciples (who tried to turn away the children) in this passage than the Savior. The Savior is the one who enjoyed time in the nursery, and to be His we must go there by grace through faith – in our hearts toward Him and in our lives toward others.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

