Quit Everything Else

Seth Godin on how to focus your energy to do well at work by knowing when (and what) to quit:

Understand that the people who are really good at “X” are the people who quit everything else . . . They focused something, because they quit the other stuff.

This would also apply, by the way, to life as a whole in Christ, as Paul says in the famous Philippians 3:7-14 passage:

But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

So, what things has He called you to?  Faithfulness to follow Him in Bible reading, prayer, service to your wife and children, fellowship with your church family, preaching the gospel to all nations, loving your neighbors, giving, fasting, and working hard all fall under the banner of counting everything [else] as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. 

Jesus Christ is infinitely more valuable than the glut of our other pursuits!  Let us press on, press on to know Him through reading His Word, praying to Him, leading and serving the families He’s given us, living with His body, submitting and taking initiative at the job He’s given us, sacrificing our money and time for the sake of others, and preaching the gospel to every person we possibly can!  That is, let us know Him in real life!

Remember, Christ Himself said in Matthew 25, “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.”  What do you and I need to quit in order to be faithful in the “littlest,” yet the most important, things?

HT: What’s Best Next and Sean Cordell

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

