God’s Unfaithful Bride

A study in Ezekiel 16:

I. How Does God Love His Faithless Bride?

  • He gives her life when she was sinful, broken, and dead – “I said to you in your blood, ‘Live! Yes, I said to you in yoru blood, ‘Live!’ ” (Ez. 16:6).
  • He clothes her, bathes her, anoints her, adorns her, covenants with her, and glorifies her  (Ez. 16:8-14).
  • After she whores herself out to many, many other lovers, God exposes her sin and hands her to it for a time (Ez. 16:15-34).
  • God renews His covenant love to her and forgives her, in direct spite of her arrogance and hatred toward Him (Ez. 16:60-63), so that she will remember and be ashamed for her sins and know that God is the LORD.

II. How am I His Faithless Bride?

  • When I was dead in sin (Eph. 2:1f), God made me alive together with Christ! By grace I have been saved!
  • God has clothed, bathed, anointed, adorned, glorified, and covenanted with me in Christ to be His own treasured possession (1 Cor. 6:9-11, Rom. 8:28-39, 1 Peter 2:4-10).
  • When I sin, God – either in practice or in imagination (which can feel just as real) – hands me over to my sin for a time, to see its evil, and, by contrast, His great grace (Heb. 12:1-7).
  • In spite of my arrogance and hate toward Him, God keeps His covenant with me, showing me that He is the LORD and shaming and humiliating me in view of my own heinous, putrid sins.
  • Further, God in fact gave to His Son the very retribution I had earned – Him to be stripped naked, taunted and beaten by those I had whored myself out to – and His place gave me what Christ had earned – me to be loved, adopted, made right with God, sanctified, and glorified with an everlasting love.  God substituted Christ for me and me for Christ!  O sweetest of trades, O fairest of swaps!  May I ever sing it!
About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

