Children Need Deeper Theology, Too

An excerpt from Kevin DeYoung’s introduction to a new theological manifesto for evangelicals, Don’t Call it a Comeback: The Old Faith for a New Day:

And yet as we [several college students of various worldviews] talked on into the night, I felt like I must not have paid enough attention growing up in the house of God all those years.

I don’t know whose fault it was, if it was anyone’s, but I remember staying awake into the wee hours thinking, “I can’t articulate what I believe and why I believe it.” I felt a bit embarrassed that after all those years I still didn’t have a good grasp on some of the most foundational doctrines of the Christian faith. Looking back, I wish I had been challenged more (or had challenged myself more) to really understand Christian doctrine when I was younger.

I was probably one of the best Bible students in our church, and yet I could barely articulate basic Christian theology past “Jesus died on the cross for our sins.” And if I couldn’t articulate the basics after seventeen solid, earnest years in the church, what must the predicament be for the seventeen-year-old just converting to Christianity, or for the thirty-four-year-old who’s getting serious about her faith for the first time? 

DeYoung speaks from his own experience, but I wonder how many of us look back now and say the same. How much more responsibility do we have for our own children, church members, students, and neighbors? Must not the old faith return if we are to see clearly in the new day? May God make it so for His glory and our good.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

