Traveling Lies

Lately I’ve had this burning desire to . . . travel.  And not to travel to Atlanta or something.  I’ve been wanting to travel the world.  Guys like Rolf Potts, Tim Ferriss, and Jason Bourne make it seem so cool.

This might seem funny to some of you.  Why would you want to travel the world?  And maybe you’re a homebody, and that’s cool.

For some of us, though, the siren song of the road grows with each well-written book, each adventurous moment with our children, and each National Geographic photo.  What’s so alluring about travel?

  1. It promises thrills. Who wouldn’t want to play underneath a Caribbean waterfall or ride a rickshaw through Tiananmen Square?
  2. It promises simplicity of life and mind. One of the things I love about getting away is clearing out all the clutter from my mental world. As many have observed, our modern mind is a messy, circular place.
  3. It promises identity. “I am a traveler” can seem better than “I am a janitor” or “I am a principal.”  And maybe it is.

But soon, God in His grace reminded me that these are all lies.  He reminds me that the gospel says:

  1. Christ is more thrilling. To see the man who quiets the wind and the waves with His word! To sit at His feet for the best portion of all! To see Him by faith is far greater than any backpacking trip up the Andes.
  2. Christ is more peaceful and unifying. Truly, we could all feel crazy in any situation. Only Jesus Christ is powerful enough to quiet our restless minds, heal our pains, and unify us around His gospel.  Only then can we live without the trinkets of the world, because He has become our “enough.”
  3. Christ is my identity. For everyone who believes, we aren’t finally defined by our vocations, our ethnicities, or our family relations. We are defined by Jesus. Whether I’m called to stay or go, to be a missionary in the US or afar, Jesus is my life.

See, the gospel answers all of my stupid problems. It answers in the sweetest, most helpful ways.  Lately, I’ve sure needed to hear it.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

