Psalm 101: The Grace of Faithful Friends

Psalm 101:6 caught my eye the other day:

I will look with favor on the faithful in the land,
that they may dwell with me;
he who walks in the way that is blameless
shall minister to me.

Following the previous section’s slam on evil and evildoers, notice the emphasis here on “the faithful” and the one who “walks in the way that is blameless.” The psalmist speaks of his friends (“I will look with favor upon the faithful in the land, that they may dwell with me,” v. 6) over against his enemies (“I hate the work of those who fall away,” v. 3).

Often, when we read passages like this, we are tempted to ask, “Why don’t I have friends who help me faithfully?” But this passage isn’t first about us or how others ought to be faithful to us.

The Faithful Friend
First, we must remember that Jesus is the one who displayed His faithfulness, to God, for His friends:

  • “He loved them to the end,” John 13:1.
  • “Whoever comes to Me I will never cast out,” John 6:37.
  • “I am the Good Shepherd; the Good Shepherd lays down His life for the sheep,” John 10:11.
  • “Greater love has no man than this: that someone lays down his life for his friends . . . but I have called you friends,” John 15:13-15.

Christ’s love for His friends is faithful, eternal, sacrificial, and ultimate. Any time the Bible speaks of those who are “faithful and true” or “holy and blameless,” it points ultimately to Christ Jesus, innocent but executed as a criminal, risen from the dead.

Point It Back to You
Second, once we have seen in the gospel Christ’s perfect, sacrificial friendship, we must point Psalm 101 back on ourselves. Do I, in the power of Jesus’ blood and righteousness, live before God and others as a faithful friend?

  1. Do I live as a husband, father, church member, and friend as someone whose walk with God is worth following? This is the essential element of any godly friendship. “I will sing . . . to you, O LORD,” (Ps. 101:1). Do I have anything of God’s grace in me to offer others?
  2. Do I have a mental thought-life that ponders God’s ways of holiness? The godly friend will spend time “ponder[ing] the way that is blameless,” (Ps. 101:2). Have I thought over God’s word and world enough to help a friend in need?
  3. Do I hate what is evil and cling to what is good? Over and again, the psalmist speaks of his hatred for evil. He promises to keep worthless things from his eyes (v. 3a), hate the work of apostates (v. 3b), keep perversion far from himself (v. 4a), know nothing of evil (v. 4b), destroy the slanderer (v. 5a), walk away from the proud (v. 5b), and cast the deceiver and liar out of his house (v. 7).
  4. Am therefore I a faithful and blameless friend? This goes back to verse 6 – am I the kind of friend who others want to live around be served by? Can I be a blameless minister to them? When someone needs a hand, am I faithful by God’s grace to provide it?

Such are faithful friends, but we will never be those until we know Jesus as Savior-Friend.

Such Friends are God’s Grace
Third, do we have such friends as Christ is and as we want to be? If so, they are a happy gift of God. They are tangible evidence of His grace to us in Christ Jesus.

God could have left us alone in this world (as too many think He does), without friends in a gospel church, but He has not! He has given us the grace of faithful friends through the Faithful Friend. The fact of Christ’s life, death, and resurrection creates holy brothers and sisters in the local church.

  • Do you know Jesus? If so, He is your faithful friend.
  • Do you know Jesus? If so, believe that He can make you such a friend.
  • Do you know Jesus? If so, seek such friends who love Him (the local church) and be thankful when God makes them faithful.

***

Do you see faithfulness in your friends through the love of Jesus? Leave your thoughts in the comments below. Thanks!

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

One Response to Psalm 101: The Grace of Faithful Friends

  1. Pingback: You Should Read the Whole Bible « Your Cross on My Back

Leave a Reply

