A Midnight Gospel Conversation

As I headed to bed tonight during a family vacation, I heard a family member begin speaking with a family guest about religion. I thought it was a good example of asking hard and helpful questions and being faithful (though imperfect!) with the gospel.

The conversation went something like this:

  • Family Member: Well, what is your religious background?
  • Family Guest: My father and mother are Christians. I take lessons from the Bible, and I live my life by them, but I believe that when I die, I’ll be buried and cremated or whatever, and then that’s the end. If there is life after death, then I believe that I’ll go to where I should because of the way I’ve lived my life and conducted myself.
  • FM: Well that’s just a homemade philosophy.
  • FG: Well, that’s what I think, and I’ve heard about Jesus in church. But do I think that I have to ask someone for forgiveness for all my sins and that’s all it takes for salvation? No.
  • FM: You do realize that you are a sinner, right?
  • FG: That I’m the same as these people who run around doing crazy things? No.

And later:

  • FG: I don’t believe that we’re all created equal, because you just said that some people have advantages that others don’t have. So if you’re saying that some people are blessed and others cursed, I don’t believe in any god who does that.

Finally, a little later:

  • FG: People have invented God because they need something to hold onto during times of trouble. Every human being has the commonality of believing in a higher power during difficult times. We all yearn for something greater than us.
  • FM: Without that confession of sins and trust in Jesus Christ, you won’t go to heaven. You’ll go somewhere else, but not to heaven.
  • FG: Well, if you’re talking about confessing your sins, then I don’t do those things.
  • FM: What do you believe about God?
  • FG: My definition of god is anything and everything in this world that is good.

Thankfully, they ended the night by shaking hands and thanking each other for the meaningful conversation. The unbeliever also welcomed our prayers.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

