You Should Read the Whole Bible

Since the red letters aren’t better, and all of God’s revelation points to Jesus, we ought to read the whole Bible.

Some folks find the Old Testament – and others the writings of Paul and the apostles – too difficult for regular reading. I can sympathize. For years, I wandered between the Gospels and Proverbs, just praying for answers to jump off the pages and bite me in the brain.

But then I learned this: the whole Bible is about Jesus, and every passage has something to do with knowing and enjoying Him.

These are my words that I spoke to you while I was
still with you, that everything written about me in the Law of Moses and
the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.

If you believe that – straight from Luke 24 – then a few other things flow from it:

  1. The Bible is about GOD. The entirety of Scripture, and all its parts, isn’t mainly about me, or you, or our lives, but about Christ – His life, death, resurrection, and return.
  2. Reading the Bible is for our joy in Jesus. The whole thing is meant to promote happy trust in Christ as Son of God, Savior of His Bride, and Fountain of Joy.
  3. Every part helps us know Christ. If the entire Bible is God-breathed (2 Timothy 3:16), then every word teaches us more about Christ. Every phrase helps us trust Him and fellowship with Him.
  4. It’s all good. Some Scripture passages might be more readable, but no passages are unimportant.
  5. This is where the Spirit speaks. “The Holy Spirit says” Scripture in Hebrews 3:7, and Jesus says in John 16:13 that the Spirit “will guide you into all truth.” That’s the Bible.
  6. This is how God intended it. God wants us to read the whole Bible to know Jesus. Since He inspired the whole thing, and since it’s all about Christ, it is all for us to know Him more fully.

For two years running, I’ve read through the Psalms with my students. We have been amazed both years, more and more as each year went along, at the full, glory-filled, jaw-dropping pictures of Jesus in this Old Testament book! (See my notes on Psalm 101, Psalm 94, and Psalm 80 for more.)

So read your whole Bible. Don’t just camp out in your favorite passages (Numbers, anyone?); read the whole thing. And keep reading it – it’s where Jesus lives. Off to read!

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

4 Responses to You Should Read the Whole Bible

  1. Pingback: New Series! « Your Cross on My Back

  2. Pingback: Help for Preaching Christ in the Old Testament « Your Cross on My Back

  3. Pingback: Every Command is a Gospel Command « Your Cross on My Back

  4. Pingback: Psalm 119: Life from the Word « Your Cross on My Back

Leave a Reply

