I Want to Leave More than Air Force Wings

A weeks ago, I went to my great-great-uncle’s funeral. It was at once touching, epic, and short-sighted. I left pondering not only my own death and legacy, but how we ought to think about life, death, and what we leave behind.

One eulogizer went to great lengths to describe the Air Force awards my distant relative had won during the Korean War. He read his work commendations and told war stories. The military theme was completed with an outdoor flag service and twenty-one-gun salute.

When we visited my uncle’s house, we found on display every piece of military memorabilia the family had discovered. Air Force wings, other medals, pictures, official documents, and various other insignia and mementos lined the dining room table. We inspected several pieces each, wondering how we had been ignorant of his achievements for so long.

As I prepared the next week to preach on Hebrews 11:17-22, I noticed that Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph display their great faith by looking beyond their respective deaths to God’s gracious promises. Each of them believed that God’s resurrecting, saving, and promise-keeping power would reach past the grave.

And all of this is written in the famous “Hall of Faith” chapter so that we who believe can read it for our instruction, encouragement, endurance, and hope (Romans 15:4). God chose to encourage our faith with stories, not mainly of military conquests, but of faith. Enduring faith is what calls others to endure in faith.

Then I realized that, when my life is finished, I want to leave my children more than Air Force wings. I want my life to be a song of God’s grace through faith. I want my eulogizers to look over my casket and preach the good news of Jesus Christ crucified to wake the dead in the room.

I may be buried tonight, tomorrow, next year, or in five more decades, but this post is a prayer that my life will matter for more than Air Force wings, because Jesus is coming back.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

2 Responses to I Want to Leave More than Air Force Wings

  1. mtsweat says:

    Amen… a great prayer to plead before our God. Thanks

  2. B Treece says:

    Yeah, it was real to me. I sat in awe that only God can make my life count for something more.

    Thanks for commenting,

    Britt
    crossonmyback

Leave a Reply

