Psalm 119: Life from the Word

Psalm 119 gives us the most thoughtfully thorough, devotionally rich, and theologically deep explanations of the supremacy of the Bible in the Christian life. Today, we’ll note a theme in the Psalm: God gives us life according to His Word.

  • v.25 My soul clings to the dust; give me life according to your word!
  • v.28 My soul melts away for sorrow; strengthen me according to your word!
  • v.107 I am severely afflicted; give me life, O Lord, according to your word!
  • v.114 You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in your word.
  • v.116 Uphold me according to your promise, that I may live, and let me not be put to shame in my hope!
  • v.124 Deal with your servant according to your steadfast love, and teach me your statutes.

In this psalm, God says over and over again that He not only gives life according to His Word, but that He wants us to pray for life from this Word!

Several applications follow:

  1. Pray these kinds of prayers. God is happy to answer them – that’s why they’re here!
  2. Trust that the Word is for your good. God has in it spoken. He speaks again and again in it, but not against it.
  3. Trust that Jesus is the living Word. Christ is the embodiment, climax, fulfillment, and goal of all of God’s words! He is forever connected to the Book!
  4. Trust that the Bible promotes your faith in God’s Son. It isn’t mainly a list of rules, but a revelation of Christ Jesus, born, crucified, risen, and ruling.

We must not believe the lies that God mainly speaks outside of His Word. He has once spoken in it for our good in the glory of His Son, and He speaks it to us now by the power of His Spirit.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

