Son, You’re Going to Get Dirty

Ten Things I Wish My Dad Had Taught Me, Pt. 1:
Son, You’re Going to Get Dirty

Today begins a ten-part series on advice I wish my dad had taught me. First up (only because it’s been on my mind lately): being a dad means cleaning up waste, junk, unclean matter. You get the idea.

From about the ages of seven to marriage, guys don’t deal with a lot of waste matter. We know how to eat meals without throwing milk on the floor (most of us), we don’t like to clean our bathrooms (mostly everyone), and we keep our clothes neat (okay, 60/40 split). All these come from the same desire: avoiding dirt, junk, and excrement.

But when you get married and have children, gentlemen, that all changes. Children volley food onto kitchen surfaces like it’s Wimbledon, drag all manner of sticks and stones into your living room a la James Audobon (“ooh, look at this!”), and (sooner or later, new parents) have many potty accidents all over your house. I mean all over your house.

A few months ago, our potty-training child had accidents in the closet, in the hallway, in the living room, in the kitchen, in the bedroom, and beside the toilet (!!!) all in a span of three weeks. I’m learning that I can’t control it, but I do wish my dad had taught me. So I’m telling you: it’s going to get dirty.

Your house is going to get dirty and your kids are going to get dirty, so you’re going to get dirty. You’re going to do the dirty work because you can’t conscientiously ask your wife to do it all the time. You just can’t. It’s not fair and it’s not right. You need to man up, grab the bucket and rags, and get to work.

So dudes out there who think you’re ready to marry that girl and start a family, know this: you’re going to get dirty. And, if you love the sacrifice of Jesus to take on all of your dirty sins, you’ll love this little gospel-picturing sacrifice, too.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

4 Responses to Son, You’re Going to Get Dirty

  1. mtsweat says:

    What an excellent post… and advice. Thanks

    • B Treece says:

      Thanks, MT. I’m mostly talking to myself. You’re a father, right? What did/do you tell your sons about raising a family?

      Britt
      crossonmyback

  2. Pingback: Son, Get Ready to Carry a Load « Your Cross on My Back

  3. Pingback: Son, Girls Aren’t Your Toys « Your Cross on My Back

Leave a Reply

