Writing Our Own Bibles

My daughter told me the other night that she wanted to read the Bible to find out the answer to one of our disagreements. I encouraged her to do so, as soon as she is able to read. She proceeded to ask for a Bible, then make up the words as she went along.

While she dictated her own “Bible,” it occurred to me that all people, in one way or another, make up our own Bibles every single day. We seek to justify our lifestyles, ethics, lusts, and selfish pleasures with our own set of scripture – unholy scripture. We invent rules (“what’s right for me is right for me,” “only science can know the truth,” “truth is irrelevant”) that look pleasing on their face, but inside are rotting with carcasses and slime.

In the end, the bibles we create make less sense than those dictated by toddlers.

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

4 Responses to Writing Our Own Bibles

  1. mtsweat says:

    Well, you nailed that one. We all come into the faith with preconceptions of what details true Christianity. It’s why proper hermeneutics are essential to a right understanding of “Thus saith the Lord.” Unfortunately, and trust me, I am guilty as all, once we’ve established a pattern of belief, it is very difficult to unteach it. Thanks for a great post and God bless.

    • B Treece says:

      Mike (?),

      Yeah, I am guilty of the same egotistical hermeneutics. We have to keep coming back to the text and asking, “What is God really saying here?” I’m glad my child reminded me just how childlike I still am.

      thankful for your encouragement,

      Britt
      crossonmyback

  2. Toby Simmons says:

    Hmm. Very interesting indeed. I enjoyed reading it!
    A great blog. Let me know what you think of mine . . .
    http://apieceofcoffee.wordpress.com/
    Keep on posting!

    • B Treece says:

      Toby,

      Thanks for commenting, and I apologize for taking two months to respond. That’s way too long, and there’s no excuse for it (even when a new job is crazy-busy).

      As for your site, I like its philosophical bent. I may just drop a comment on this Tolstoy post. We’ll see. . .

      Keep in touch and thanks,

      Britt
      crossonmyback

Leave a Reply

