Psalm 25: The Lord Teaches the Humble

Psalm 25:9 makes an interesting, Proverbs-like point:

He leads the humble in what is right,
and teaches the humble his way.

Notice the repetition of the word “humble,” and the parallelism between “leads / teaches” and “what is right / his way.” Points like these led me to ask myself this morning:

  1. Do I believe that it is only the humble who are taught of God, or do I come to the Word seeking my own agenda?
  2. Do I come to the Word to worship and learn, or to check it off my worksheet?
  3. Do I believe that my life will be crooked unless God teaches me, or do I walk proudly in my own ways?
  4. Do I humbly look for God’s leadership through His teaching, or do I rest on my own pre-understanding and fuzzy memories of the Word?

And why shouldn’t I trust God over my own wisdom? The next verse tells us:

All the paths of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness (or “truth”),
for those who keep his covenant and his testimonies.

And later, in verse 14:

The friendship (or “counsel”) of the Lord is for those who fear him,
and he makes known to them his covenant.

Oh, let us fear the Lord and worship at His written feet!

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

