Backstory

Everyone has a backstory, and most of the time it helps to hear it. This blog really isn’t about me; it’s about Christ Jesus and His glory. Yet, I know that as Paul let his churches know him as a “father” and even (amazingly!) a “mother” in 1 Thessalonians 2:7-12, so readers want to know who they are hearing from. That desire is a good thing, a gift from God to connect humans made in His image (Genesis 1).

For the most part, the last three years have been the hardest spell of my rather short life. I’ve hinted at it here and there (and I hate to either use this blog for confession or to downplay the importance of serious thought), but for a time blogging has taken a distant backseat to Scripture, prayer, my wife, our children, worshipping with our local church, working hard in my vocation, and building God-centered friendships.

None of that is to say that blogging isn’t important to me; serious thought is commanded for the Christian. Indeed, so many of the benefits of life are lost without serious, faith-filled thought. I shudder to think how much grace I’ve lost, forgotten, or neglected through my own poverty of biblical thought.

And none of this is to say that my readers aren’t important to me. I thank the Lord for each and every person who benefits from this blog and who encourages me, whether through comments, questions, or just seeing that someone liked what I wrote.

I enjoy all of this and count it a privilege to write to you. Now, back to covering topics so much larger than myself . . .

About B Treece
loved by God before I ever loved Him, saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone by the authority of the Bible alone to the glory of God alone, made to enjoy Him forever, happily married with wonder-filled children.

Leave a Reply

